DCL Structure

History of the Donald Cameron League

The late Donald Cameron, an ex Scottish Internationalist and a member of Kirkintilloch Golf Club, formed the league in 1947.
He presented a trophy to be played for annually and invited the following clubs to participate: Balmore, Bishopbriggs, Cawder, Douglas Park
Hayston, Kirkintilloch, Lenzie and Milngavie. In 1958 the following clubs were admitted to the league: Bearsden, Dullatur, Glasgow,
and Hilton Park. In the sixties the leagues' compliment of clubs was complete with the addition of Sandyhills and Windyhill.

In 1970 Cawder Golf Club, the then holders, mislaid the Donald Cameron League Trophy and a new trophy was purchased,
but, surprise, surprise, the original trophy turned up in their trophy cabinet. This led to the league being split, in 1970,
into two divisions of 7 clubs. The A Division playing for the Donald Cameron Trophy and the B Division
playing for the new trophy called The Campsie Trophy.

In 1947 Milngavie Golf Club presented a wooden spoon to the league, to be presented to the club finishing with the least
amount of points in B Division. Milngavie's aim was to never win it.

The league has been administrated by the following secretaries:

1947 - 1955 Bob Miller Lenzie
1956 - 1972 Bill Jessiman Hayston
1973 - 2004 Andy Kellock Ralston
2005 - Brian Davidson Windyhill