DCL Structure

Inter Cities Cup 2012

The Inter Cities Cup was held twice in 2012. This was to change the date from April of the following year to October of the year the teams qualified to play in the event.

The first leg of the 2012 Inter Cities Cup was held at The Royal Burgess Golfing Society, winners of The Edinburgh League 2012, on Sunday 7th October. The visitors were Sandyhills Golf Club, winners of The Donald Cameron League and The Boundary Bell 2012. The weather was perfect for golf with a clear blue sky. The overall result of the first leg was a draw with each team securing 4 1/2 points.

The results of the individual matches are as follows:

Royal Burgess


Steve Buckley Beat Steven Robertson
Varum Varadharajan Lost to Mark Bookless
Ian Taylor Lost to Fergus Stevenson
John Yuille All Square Paul McKay
John Fraser Lost to Tommy Martin
Grant Pollock Lost to Craig Anderson
Fraser McCluskey Beat John Love
Jim Thompson Beat Andrew Quinn Jnr
Gordon Archibald Beat Bobby Bryce

The second leg was held at Sandyhills Golf Club on a dry day but very wet underfoot. This was a very close contested event with Sandyhills winning with the last putt on the last green by the last player, John Love. The result of the second leg was Sandyhills 5 and Royal Burgess 4. This gave Sandyhills an overall winning total of 9.5 to 8.5.

The results of the individual matches are as follows:

Sandyhills Result Royal Burgess
Steven Robertson Lost to Steven Buckley
Mark Bookless All Square Sandy Gray
Fergus Stevenson Lost to John Yuille
Paul McKay Beat Ian Taylor
Tommy Martin Beat Fraser McLuskie
Craig Anderson Beat Grant Pollock
Robert Bryce Lost to Doug Ross
Andrew Quinn Jnr All Square Brian Tait
John Love Beat Scott MacDonald

the teams


Royal Burgess Team in Red, Sandyhills Team in Dark Blue.